Punk Goes Pop Vol. 3 introduces me to 2010

2 Nov

When it comes to current popular music, I’m clueless. I lock myself away in my little hardcore/scenster niche, and I rarely poke my head out to see what everyone else is jamming. As an entertainment editor, that’s probably not the best strategy, but I’ve figured out a way to stay under my hardcore-rock while simultaneously giving myself a taste of pop culture. This strategy is called “Punk Goes…”

“Punk Goes…” is a compilation series that features covers of songs in a certain genre by “punk” bands (but in all reality, these bands are more hardcore, post-hardcore, pop-punk, etc. than the classic definition of punk). Fearless Records produces the album and always manages to get the biggest bands in the alternative/hardcore scene to participate. Past albums titles include “Punk Goes Pop Volumes 1, 2, and 3,” “Punk Goes Metal,” “Punk Goes Crunk,” “Punk Goes Classic Rock,” and many more.

Today, Fearless Records released “Punk Goes Pop Volume 3,” and just like I expected, it introduced me to popular songs I have never heard of. I was able to listen to brand new songs (to me) like Jason Derulo’s “In My Head,” Jay-Z’s “Run This Town,” and Akon’s “Right Now (Na Na Na)” without ever actually leaving my hardcore-comfort zone. Win win.

“Punk Goes Pop Volume 3” track list:

  1. “Down” – Breathe Carolina (originally by Jay Sean and Lil Wayne)
  2. “Hot n Cold” – Woe, Is Me (originally by Katy Perry)
  3. “Bad Romance” –  Artist vs. Poet (originally by Lady Gaga)
  4. “In My Head” – Mayday Parade (originally by Jason Derulo)
  5. “Right Now (Na Na Na)” – Asking Alexandria (originally by Akon)
  6. “Paper Planes” – This Century (originally by M.I.A.)
  7. “Heartless” – The World Alive (originally by Kanye West)
  8. “Bulletproof” – Family Force 5 (originally by La Roux)
  9. “Blame It” – Of Mice & Men (originally by Jamie Foxx and T-Pain)
  10. “Run This Town” – Miss May I (originally by Jay-Z, Kanye West, and Rihanna)
  11. “Airplanes” – The Ready Set (originally by B.o.B. and Hayley Williams)
  12. “Dead and Gone” – Cute Is What We Aim For (originally by T.I. and Justin Timberlake)
  13. “Need You Now” – Sparks the Rescue (originally by Lady Antebellum)
  14. “My Love” – We Came As Romans (originally by Justin Timberlake and T.I.)

Leave a comment